Unique Group Exercise Classes and Personal Training


Google Reviews

Steve Massey
Steve Massey
05:54 14 Nov 18
Very highly recommend! I had gone to a few trainer & CrossFit gyms and thought I’d try Locomotion Athletics. I was extremely impressed with the professionalism and focus on form. I’ve had 3 shoulder surgeries which makes it difficult when going to group training as I can’t always do all the moves. James and Darrick have been extremely helpful in my rehab and I’m in the best shape since about 4 years ago. Big thanks for all the support!
Katherine Blaemers
Katherine Blaemers
04:27 25 Jul 18
Not going to lie, I have fitness A.D.D. but that all stopped when my friend introduced me to James and Darrick at Locomotion. Their group classes are challenging yet fun, and I actually don’t dread going. They are always changing up the workouts and always push me to do my best. I’ve never been to a gym where the trainers take such a personal interest in you, your goals and hold you accountable every week. The music is fun, the members are amazing and the atmosphere is so uplifting. So if you want to get stronger, be constantly challenged and make friends and have fun in the process then Locomotion is the place for you! Thank you for everything James and Darrick !!
Kasi Munoz
Kasi Munoz
20:37 24 Jul 18
Locomotion is amazing. They keep me accountable, the workouts are dynamic and challenging and I'm always happy I went to class. Their gym is super easy to get to, right off the highway. Definitely check them out!
Nicole DeLuca
Nicole DeLuca
22:16 21 Jul 18
Love locomotion! The workouts are challenging and fun with great music to make the hour fly by. James constantly changes the routine to keep things fresh. He’ll modify and personalize workouts for you if you are recovering from an injury as well. Can’t reccomend this place enough!
Gloria Young
Gloria Young
17:42 20 Jun 18
I joined this awesome crew for my morning bootcamp workouts over 3 months ago. Working closely with two trainer with a lot of expertise has already greatly improved my form and strength. I am looking forward to join the class every morning and love the simple and friendly space.
Anne Bessinger
Anne Bessinger
23:26 19 Apr 17
Challenging and fun! I have been taking classes for 2 weeks now and I am loving it! The next morning, I can always feel the impact from the work put in the day before. It's the best feeling! Each class is a little different which keeps it interesting. And Im definitely motivated to always improve on repeat exercises. Looking forward to new found muscle definition for summer. Definitely check these guys out!
J Han
J Han
22:46 19 Apr 17
I love working outdoors with James and my group! Since I spend so much time in doors at work and at a desk, it is nice to be able to enjoy the beautiful city we live in and work up a sweat. I like that he goes through a lot of range of motion exercises during the work out. I highly recommend joining if you want to get healthy and enjoy some nature.
Jeff Brass
Jeff Brass
20:32 14 Apr 17
I cannot say enough good things about the Locomotion team. I visit the SD area every few months and love the workouts they put together. The coaches are experienced and the programs are fun and challenging. Highly recommend them if you're looking for a good sweat under the sun.
Morgan Blakely
Morgan Blakely
20:19 08 Apr 17
As an life long athlete, locomotion knew exactly how to tailor the workout to really push and challenge me. Not to mention the outdoor environment is the way to go. These guys are awesome. Money well spent
See All Reviews Write a review

Facebook Reviews

Locomotion Athletics
5.0
powered by Facebook
Bill Randoll
Bill Randoll
2018-06-06T23:23:14+0000
Locomotion knows how to assess your conditioning, strength and flexibility in designing a workout routine that will maximize your results while minimizing injury. Proper assessment leads to a better personalized fitness program that’s fits both your goals and capabilities
Andrew Skuzzy
Andrew Skuzzy
2018-02-08T17:49:40+0000
Great place and community that makes fitness fun.
Mateo Amuchastegui
Mateo Amuchastegui
2018-02-08T16:12:24+0000
Great Results is an understatement! Mr. Wheeler and his team motivate and get me moving when I need them most!
Anne Bessinger
Anne Bessinger
2018-02-05T19:04:37+0000
I've been working out with Locomotion Athletics for 9 months now and I can honestly say, I'm in the best shape of my life! Banished that office bod. I feel great, look great and still enjoy going to class. So glad I found this functional training program!
Kasi Munoz
Kasi Munoz
2018-01-26T18:19:28+0000
I started with Locomotion in September of 2016. I had just separated from my husband and was going through a harder time than I could ever imagine. I have grown up as an athlete, so I tend to get my ZEN through physical activity. Beyond the attentive training that Darrick provided, I also felt a part of a community, which really helped me. Most of the time we complained and didn't want to workout, but we also showed up and were always happy we did. I learned a lot about love and self care last year, and showing up for myself by working out was huge. And, I also hope that the others that I workout alongside, know that I will show up for them when they need it! Thank you Darrick! 2018 is my year. My husband and I are reconciling, and along with going through therapy and pushing my personal growth, I know that having the support and comradery at Locomotion has been such a huge part of keeping my MIND, BODY and SOUL healthy and growing. As you can see, Locomotion has provided so much more than just their knowledge on weight training and nutrition! That to me separates them from the rest!
Madeline Ross
Madeline Ross
2018-01-25T20:51:45+0000
NikkiRose Lam
NikkiRose Lam
2018-01-16T03:08:10+0000
So excited about this new gem in Old Town! I’m a beginner when it comes to strength training and I really appreciate the attention & encouragement you get with the group workouts here. Was able to learn proper form and really appreciated the checkins to make sure I keep up the proper form & the guidance on the amounts of weight for my level. Everyone in the group was super friendly and really encouraging. Will look forward to going to Locomotion 1-2x/week, having fun, learning proper form and getting in shape! �
Laura Simpson-Eng
Laura Simpson-Eng
2017-09-07T17:27:57+0000
I work out at work with Darrick. It's a great program for all body types and I'm proof of that!
Brooke Sooza
Brooke Sooza
2017-06-07T07:06:57+0000
Hugo Gabriel
Hugo Gabriel
2017-06-07T07:04:46+0000
Great workouts. They are very dynamic and everyone can do them at their own pace. The vibe is great and the instructors are very knowledgeable. I highly recommend these classes.
Julie Fornazari
Julie Fornazari
2017-05-28T21:48:57+0000
Gloria Busch
Gloria Busch
2017-05-28T21:14:19+0000
Ashley Dalba
Ashley Dalba
2017-05-20T19:28:03+0000
Kimba Marie
Kimba Marie
2017-04-25T18:18:45+0000
Kiandra Hebert
Kiandra Hebert
2017-03-27T23:03:37+0000
Such a better way to approach fitness. I love being able to get in full body workouts and getting to be outside rather than in an overcrowded stuffy gym. James does a great job at moticating and helping with correct form.
Michael Veluz
Michael Veluz
2017-03-16T22:21:51+0000
Bryan Lorenz
Bryan Lorenz
2017-03-16T21:14:56+0000
I worked out with all three of the Locomotion trainers (James, Darrick, & Anna) and they not only whooped my butt, but did so in a fun and lively outdoor environment. I consider myself a very fit and active person, yet they continued to challenge me. All three are masters at their craft and have exercises for all experience levels, and do so with great attitudes and instructions. I'd highly recommend them to anyone!
Chuck Wheeler
Chuck Wheeler
2017-03-16T18:36:57+0000
Megan Jaffe
Megan Jaffe
2017-03-03T19:51:34+0000
Jimmy took a triathlete who's only moved in a forward direction for the last 10 years and showed her the light and importance of strength and flexibility. It's made all the difference in the world. Only wished I'd found Jimmy sooner.
Jamie Jay
Jamie Jay
2017-02-24T05:20:26+0000
Peter Bbrauch
Peter Bbrauch
2017-02-23T03:09:25+0000
Fun, intelligent and challenging workouts! Thanks Darrick!!
Aaron Null
Aaron Null
2017-02-20T21:28:12+0000
Top class results and amazing people to work with! Can't ask for more!
Erin Adams
Erin Adams
2017-02-03T03:40:17+0000
I just had my first training session with James this eve at Presidio Park. It was the perfect combination of strength, cardio and flexibility for me - completely tailored to me needs. I feel motivated and excited for my next session.
Robert Dubalu
Robert Dubalu
2017-02-01T05:03:50+0000
Sanjay Choudrey
Sanjay Choudrey
2017-01-27T18:06:39+0000
Kathleen Burnett Cunningham
Kathleen Burnett Cunningham
2017-01-03T17:35:47+0000
Three of the best trainers I have worked with. Jame's sense of humor and ability to make you laugh, you forget you're even working out. Anna's ability to find the sore spots, work them out and keep you going. Darrick always making sure you have impeccable form and his you will do this attitude! I have been injury free, strong and flexible during the two years I have trained with them, and they come to me.
Heather Marley
Heather Marley
2016-12-23T05:59:41+0000
Shout out and high recommendations to Darrick Truong for his direction and support in helping me recover from a fibula break and ligament pull to enable me to get back in the swing of things as quickly as possible. His thorough and comprehensive explanation of each movement, exercise and what to work on between sessions is top notch and very much appreciated!! Thanks Darrick!!
Jules PixieDust
Jules PixieDust
2016-12-16T18:47:31+0000
Finally a workout plan that fits my schedule. Experienced trainers who come to me, or I can join a local class - so many options, this is genius!
Julia Nemon Montijo
Julia Nemon Montijo
2016-12-15T15:10:59+0000
Andrea Jones
Andrea Jones
2016-12-15T05:59:54+0000
Patrick Morgan
Patrick Morgan
2016-12-14T20:31:31+0000
Casey Fashouer
Casey Fashouer
2016-12-12T21:54:22+0000
Darrick is a great trainer who has helped me reach my goals in the gym. I have been working out with him for about a year now and I continue to see amazing results. His workouts incorporate different exercises each time and he is always coming up with new ideas on how to make the workouts challenging. He is super knowledgeable about his craft and he created a plan to improve my diet as well. I would recommend him to anyone.
Eduardo Hughes
Eduardo Hughes
2016-12-12T19:33:35+0000
Some of the best personal trainers I've had the pleasure of both working with and learning from. I highly recommend using them to reach your personal fitness goals.
Claudia Sierra
Claudia Sierra
2016-12-11T14:07:15+0000
I love my bootcamp sessions! Darrick is amazing. He is so knowledgable in nutrition and exercise, and he makes it so much fun. His bootcamp is challenging. It is an overall workout. I love that there's cardio, weight training, flexibility exercises, resistance training....it's always different. He is very encouraging! He pushes me and makes sure my form is perfect. It's incredible how with a few suggestions on how to properly do an exercise can have such a difference! Darrick knows his craft!!!!!I've lost weight, I'm leaner and gained muscle, I have more endurance. My posture is better and my body just feels great!! I also love everyone that goes to the bootcamp. It's such a fun time. I always look forward to training with Darrick!!!!
Eszter Julian
Eszter Julian
2016-12-07T05:52:52+0000
From the moment I first picked up a barbell, Darrick Truong has been there to guide me, encourage me, & inspire me to greater achievements. I love working out with Darrick in person so I can get the benefit of his watchful eye, his suggestions to improve my form, his motivation, & his good-humored company, but this guy also has the best, smartest programming around. He really listens to my needs, whether they're about time spent in the gym or strength gains, & he tailors a lifting program that meets them & inspires me to work hard & get better. He's always available to answer any question from lifting technicalities to nutritional advice to recovery techniques. Under Darrick's coaching, I've added insane amounts of weight to my squat, bench, & deadlift, & I have the competition hardware to prove it- but most of all, I'm better equipped to take on challenges in the gym, at work, & in life!
Next Reviews

Yelp Reviews

Locomotion Athletics
5.0
Based on 12 Reviews
Ken K.
Ken K.
2017-02-02 00:22:45
I've been training with these guys and I have to say that they are really effective.By working around my schedule, coming to wherever I might be available...
Anne B.
Anne B.
2017-04-12 21:32:30
I just started working out with Locomotion. I'm used to sticking strictly with Pilates. I'm so glad I tried this out and got outside. The sessions are so...
Jessica H.
Jessica H.
2017-04-14 16:02:12
I love being able to work out outside after and/or before work. It's such a great way to take advantage of the outdoors, since I'm stuck behind the desk all...
Danny P.
Danny P.
2017-02-02 10:48:18
I totally recommend these guys. My workouts have been with James, who you can tell from the first moment, has a ton of experience. He was able to quickly...
D M.
D M.
2017-07-13 20:08:34
I just moved to San Diego and recently started training with James. I usually only do yoga but wanted to try something new, and I have to say I LOVE it! The...
Nikki L.
Nikki L.
2018-01-15 19:15:22
So excited about this place! I'm a beginner when it comes to strength training and I totally appreciate the attention & encouragement you get with the group...
James R.
James R.
2018-01-13 17:48:28
Derrick. Anna, and James are amazing! I love the detail their workouts. Small class sizes and the ability to adapt the group training sessions to push you...
Ceej L.
Ceej L.
2018-02-09 20:13:50
Not only are James and Derick Athletic knowledgeable and positive, but so is everyone I've met at their studio! It's a Great group of encouraging people in...